Fences

This is the view from my bedroom window. I got to thinking that when i was a kid there were just low walls or a private hedge seperating us from our neighbours. No 6ft fences. We actually chatted over the wall. People were much friendlier. If it rained and her next door was out we would dash round to take in her washing if it was on the line. Look after each others kids if there was an emergency or if one of us was popping to the shops. I have lived next door to my neighbors for 26 years and apart from the usual good morning i have had 2 short conversations with her. Sad isn't it. Where has the neighborlyness gone. Those I have known since i moved here in 1971 who had kids and we were all friends are still chatty and are of "the old school" of neighbors. But not the newer generation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.