Eilatanfoto

By Eilatanfoto

My Island Home

First things first!

To my old flatmate who challenged me to the New Years Resolution of putting up 4 blips a month - DONE!!!! That's right - and I'm dancing around the kitchen to celebrate. :)

Todays blip (another nature blip which, lets face it, is not really my style), comes from the Launceston Cataract Gorge in my home state of Tasmania. The gorge is located in the centre of the city and is kind of like a spiritual home for the locals. It takes around 40 minutes to walk into the centre which justifies the inevitable icecream and swim at the other end.

For those wondering, Tasmania is the little Island (and smallest state) floating off the bottom of mainland Australia. Standard jokes relate to inbreeding, 2 heads, backwards ways and that we may infact be the west Island of NZ (though they don't particularly want to lay claim to us either).

Positive things about my Island home:

* Everybody speaks - you would never walk passed and not say hello, because the chances are the person is related or knows your family.

* Everything is fresh - there's something to be said for the 'old ways'.

* Backyard cricket involves the whole nieghbourhood!

* You can ask the neighbours if you can turn the mailbox in to a volcano as a practical joke by your nieces and nephews and they say "Yes".

* A big line at the shops means your auntie and neighbour are ahead of you - there's a good chance if you have less items they'll tell you to go ahead of them.

I love Tassie, it's where my family are and where I'm from. Though I choose not to live there - it's a great place to visit! Did I mention we have a chocolate factory and 2 breweries????


My Island Home (Part thereof by Christine Anu)

6 years I lived in the desert
And every night
I dreamt of the sea
Now I'm down here living in the city
with all
of my family

N' my island home
My island home
My island home
Is waiting for me

My home is Australia
We are a land bound by sea
though I may travel far across the ocean
It will never forget me

N' my island home
My island home
My island home
Is waiting for me....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.