Meetings

On Sunday I had a migraine. Today I had a wonderful morning with Margie.

Margie's gem of the day: "As you age, you climb on top of the rubble of your mistakes and each year you can see a little further than you saw the year before. You can see chunks of time, decades. My 20s. My 30s. My 40s. You begin to see the meaning of it all."

Me: (Softly) What is the meaning, Margie?

Margie: You'll see. (Gales of laughter.)

I spent the rest of the day in meetings, phone conversations, and texts, planning the Lights for Liberty event on July 12. The only photo I made today was this shot at the Jobs with Justice meeting. They voted to endorse our event and to send the Light Brigade to join us, spelling out the word LIBERATION. (It's a group of people who hold large black posters into which lights are imbedded in the shape of letters, attached to batteries that make the letters light up in the night.) 

Checked off: Sound system. MC. Drummer and Ocarina-player. Three well-known, powerful speakers. Altar construction team. Security team. Meditation leader. Bell ringer. Flautist. Candles. Light Brigade. Publicity, but not too much publicity. We really hope for no more than 100 people. We want it to be nourishing, a time of shared mourning, connection, and recommitment to the work. Intentionally preaching to the choir, because sometimes the choir needs nourishment so they can go on singing.

I lay in bed last night staring at the ceiling, asking myself what I have forgotten. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.