a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Sanity Check

Managed a brief sanity check today by going for a drive. The rain started in earnest, almost resembling the monsoon season that we used to have. Very sensibly (but reluctantly) decided to turn the car around and head home before the rain flooded the creeks and closed the highway. I don't mind being stranded on the side of a road for a day or two if I've got water and other essentials in the car, but seeing the car had nothing more to boast of than a "Best of Acker Bilk" cd - clearly it's not my car!!! - there was no way I was going to hang about on the roads for too long.

Still, it was good to clear my head for awhile. The parents (familiarly known as The Mothercraft and His Lordship) are in preparation to become Grey Nomads# and have bought a new 4WD and van* and are selling the house. Which means everything has to be moved or sold - and moving furniture, sorting boxes of books etc in the middle of summer isn't my idea of a holiday!

Which also means I am not spending much time on blip at all at the moment. I am trying to sneak a peek at people's journals so I don't get too far behind but I may not be doing much in the way of commenting or replying for a few days yet!
______________
# Also known as Snowbirds. You know the type - retirees who think it's compulsory to get a van and spend months or even years driving verrrry slowly along the coastline and/or through the interior of the country, bickering the whole way as to whether they should have turned left at that last crossing or not.
* I have dubbed the caravan The Sanitarium, because it's about the size of a Weeties box and because the parents (who have very different personalities) are likely to be driven insane by the end of their trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.