Emergency Ward Bond

Took my mother along today to the spanking new £64m Balfour Hospital in Kirkwall.  Inevitably she was up at 5.50 a.m. for her 13.30 scan.  For some reason known only to herself she asked the consultant, Mr Alex Mitchell, if he played the bagpipes.  He had the presence of mind to say ‘Yes – but not during surgery’.  She never mentioned it again. 

I then took her out for a late lunch and I happened to meet a friend.  On introduction my mother explained to Wendy that she was my carer.  It’s doesn’t get any easier.

I tried commissioning our new answer phone but rather counter-intuitively the manufacturer has included instructions on how to change an air filter on the Mark I Hillman Imp.  I am returning to the Kirkwall phone emporium tomorrow.  I may have to consult Snapper.

Rising rapidly.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.