Empregada

Translated, empregada means maid.

The fact that any Maputo household with the means employs an empregada presented me with a moral dilemma when I first arrived in Mozambique. The apartment I rent was vacated by its owners - a family of five - when they relocated to Quelimane in central Mozambique. After signing the contract, a conversation with Ana the empregada was foisted upon me. For three years she’d been employed five days per week to look after the family.

I couldn’t conceive of needing an empregada full time as there is a limited amount of mess one single man can make per week, especially one who is anally retentive. I also am used to living alone and guarding my own space keenly. In a confined apartment it would be awkward for both of us for her to have to occupy herself with a limited number of tasks, and there was a trade-off to be decided between the useful help, the inconvenience of devising work and the harshness of not employing her at all, and therefore dismissing her. It felt very much like receiving a volunteering offer at work, and the fear of being able to keep someone occupied versus muddling through as per usual.

I decided to invite Ana to remain with the apartment two days per week, and pay her a better pro rata rate than before. Whilst it feels strange to say I employ a maid, I reconcile it with the fact it’s the norm here, and that she’d have lost her job without it. Although there is lots of under-unemployment in Mozambique I like to think she uses her other free days on a second job and is therefore better off than previously.

Although I don’t think all employers have received this memo, I believe kind treatment is the key to a successful relationship with an empregada. Bonuses for presents for her kids at Christmas and if she’s keen I’ll pay for English lessons for her, which Ilidio could deliver after he’s done mine in Portuguese.

I’m grateful to Ana for her approach and diligence and she does keep the place shipshape. I needn’t have worried about her keeping occupied. She sticks the TV on and chills when she’s done with chores, which I don’t mind as she may not have a TV or anywhere as comfortable to lounge. Although when I’m having a Portuguese lesson in the same room it’s a tad inconvenient.

This sign advertises cooks, nannies and maids for hire around Maputo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.