Sue Foll's picture of the day

By POD2008

LOL (little old ladies)

I was sad to hear that Nan Connell died yesterday. She was 90 and my aunt-in -law.

I loved her. I am sad.

She was active until the end. One of those hardy Scottish women who just carried on. A Post Mistress for most of her life. Religious. Finding Pakistani takeovers of post offices tricky initially,I spent a lot of time explaining how Ramadan is harder than Lent and how they need a day off for Eid (like Christmas). She had Indian neighbours who she loved and loved her.

Nan never visited me in London but I would have liked her to, she was adventurous. As are these two women if they choose to get on the 176 bus to Penge. Leicester Square (where I photographed them) is busier but probably safer :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.