I'm Seeing Spots!

Dear Diary,

I discovered this little beauty resting on a geranium leaf on the front porch.  It is a Giant Leopard Moth.  It has a wing span of 3 inches!  It let me coax it to come sit on my hand and we sat together on the porch for awhile.  I complained about the horrible heat wave we are in, it is hot as blue blazes as my grandfather would say, and how hard it was for John and I to plant the new lilac bush yesterday,  run hoses and dead head things in the garden in the sweltering heat.  He was an excellent listener.  I carefully restored him to his place on the leaf.  He will sleep all day, a smart thing to do in this heat, and off he'll will go when the sun goes down.  I'm heading to a 4th of July party so I doubt we will meet again but it was a pleasant interlude with my spotted friend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.