Action Time Vision

By ATV

ATV = 3 points in time

First of all, though, let's set out the stall. I'm not a photographer. Yesterday I bought a Fuji F60 point and shoot compact digital camera.

"Ha, that's not camera" some may scoff but there lies the link to my debut image/posting.

Being of a certain age I was indeed a child of punk.

You may in hindsight think it was a lot of rubbish however bearing in mind that Rod Stewart and The Carpenters were the sort of drivel the British Broadcasting Corporation force fed Britain at that time punk was a complete revolution.

None more so than one of my, then and to this date, favourite bands, the wonderful Alternative TV.

While The Adverts sang of "One Chord Wonders" - ironically consisting of a plentitide of chords, when the infamous t-shirt stated "Here's three chords - now form a band!" Mark Perry, creator and editor of fanzine "Sniffing Glue" and his band Alternative TV actually did. "Action Time Vision" is my favourite single of all time.

It wasn't my or Alternative TV's first. Technically it's not the best. It's not the most imaginatively written and it's not what will be played at my funeral.

Alternative TV were punk. The real deal. Not Top Of the Pops weekend plastic punks with safety pins and narrow ties singing power pop Alterntiave TV were so off the radar that they never compromised - a decision which would ultimately cost them their fanbase as they became more bizarre through time.

Of all my years of listening, playing and collecting music this 7" is still my prized possession and one of the very, very few pieces of vinyl I have kept hold of. I can't part with it.

So the lesson I took from those golden years is that you don't have to be good at something to enjoy it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.