PeteWpics

By PeteWpics

Highway robbery

I had to visit the eye clinic today at Queen Elizabeth Hospital Kings Lynn. I've been getting some odd little flashings in my right eye so I thought that maybe it should be checked out. MrsW who has been through this kind of thing before said they would probably put some drops in my eye which would make my sight rather blurry so it would be best not to drive. So I sought out my senior railcard and my bus pass and set off on the journey which comprised of a train to Kings Lynn and a bus out to the hospital. Purchasing my return ticket on the platform I was informed by the machine that I couldn't use my railcard because I was travelling out at peak time. Arguing with a machine is a bit pointless so I mentioned to the kind ticket lady at Lynn that although I had travelled out at peak time I would be returning in off peak hours. Surely I should be allowed some discount on my railcard for the return journey? With an apologetic smile she told me that the fare related to the time I bought the ticket to commence my journey. I felt a bit aggrieved but consoled myself with the thought that my bus fare would be free and a similar journey where we used to live in Somerset would have cost twice as much. MrsW was right about the drops. I've added an extra to illustrate my vision after I left the eye clinic. Oh and BTW there's nothing wrong with my eyes :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.