Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

2019 Thursday — Celebrating

On our way to the early morning sand sculptures at the pier, I said to Mr. Fun, “It’s interesting that with all these people in town, we never run into anyone we know.” This little town swells from its normal 3,000 to 30,000 people each year on July 4th.

Then as we were looking at sand sculptures a woman walked toward me and asked, “Can you tell me about this sculpture and what it’s about?” I started stuttering some feeble answer when I realized it was Julie, the daughter of my good friend Jeanne who had died of cancer back in 1988. We have not seen Julie in years and years. I hugged her and hugged her and hugged her and then introduced myself to her husband Patrick and we all had a few moments on the sand of getting reacquainted. It was delightful to see Julie again.

Then Mr. Fun and I walked off of the shore toward Ocean Avenue to see the annual parade. Then we walked south along the parade route toward our house. It is fun to walk the opposite direction the parade is traveling because we not only get to see the parade, but we also get to see all the parade watchers. 

We stopped for a moment when we came to where our new friends, Mike & Debi and their family, were watching the parade (they had their vehicle parked in front of our house), and we knew we’d see them later. We had plans to be at their house in south Cayucos tonight to join them for dessert. So we kept moving.

When we arrived back at the house, I fixed us a lunch of tuna salad sandwiches. We then had a very relaxed afternoon. After a light dinner, we went to Mike and Debi’s house for dessert and we could have stayed there to view the fireworks show that would be at the Cayucos pier in the north end of the community, but we wanted to get home to our three pups.

This was a good holiday in Cayucos,
on California’s Central Coast,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.