Keys, wallet, phone......

Keys, wallet, phone…… is a mantra I have tried to drum into Will as a young adult.

I won’t go into all the details but I got a text this morning from Will, asking me not to be cross with him as he had made a serious misjudgement regarding handing his old house keys in. He’d originally thought it was Sunday 7th. I had asked him on 2-3 occasions if he could check this but he insisted he was right. They were due to be handed in today at 12 mid-day.

Anyway, poor the lad was really stressed and asked for our help with  last minute cleaning…..so two hours later  his old house was scrubbed and cleaned and swept (the hoover was broken!). There had been 7 in the house this year, 2 of them very untidy (not Will.) I can’t really believe people would leave an odd shoe and basically not take their sh*t with them when they leave. I understand some of them live miles away and their parents can’t come over to help but for goodness sake being an adult doesn’t just give you the right to drink in the pub at 18. 

Unfortunately adulting comes with boring household skills and shared responsibilities that they need to learn and be fair to each other. Rant over.

Anyway we were done by 13:20 and Will handed his key back to the estate agent.

His new pad is fresh and cosy, there are only 3 of them there this year - not the messy ones! We unpacked the remainder of his stuff from the cars and headed off to the ‘Fat Hippo’ for lunch. Will was less stressed and we enjoyed our meal. Jesmond is a fabulous suburb in Newcastle, I wouldn’t mind living there myself.

We said our farewells after a mum/son hug and I laughed and said “keys, wallet,phone”, Will laughed too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.