wrperry

By wrperry

Life with the Lotuses

This is not the shot I expected to blip today, but my lotus flower photos seemed too ordinary and I was in the mood to do something different.  Suzanne and I were at the aquatic gardens this morning, one of the three major destinations we try to cover every summer - along with the sunflower fields and hummingbird feeders at Patuxent wildlife center.  I used only my macro lens today, which helped me focus (literally) on the the small subjects.  I took photos of dew drops, individual petals, seed pods, etc.  The dragonflies appeared once the sun came out, and we got some shots of them as well.  This one is quite bedraggled, and it made me think about its life in the gardens.  A quick search found that they only live about two to four months as adults. I suppose the wings are so fragile because they aren't meant to last very long.  Interesting little creatures.
Thanks for hosting the flower challenge, Anni!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.