Living in Brabant

By AilsaR

Tears for Souveniers

I'd planned a 4-odd hours in London during my return trip.

Said goodbye to my parents in the morning, these things never get any better.

Once in London, walked (a lot, with suitcase!) and with a bit of extra Christmas money, treated myself to PhotoShop elements (11). Nice!

Had a few tearful moments, some smiles, interactions (whilst looking at the Women at War memorial, a Frenchman came up to me and said "we must never forget". I wanted to answer, but I was so touched by the spontaneous words from a stranger, I couldn't).

This Blip is taken from the Battle of Britain memorial on the Embankment; the raindrop, under the left eye made me think of a tear [on edit: two]. Oh, and before I left, I brushed them away. It just seemed right.

Being in London, on this grey, 'not good for photography' day, made me realise that despite the dullness, the rain made the pavements shine, and the splashes of red (bus, telephone booth, coats on the guards at Admiralty House) makes it a very special place indeed, even though I left it all those years ago, I still love it, and London in the rain







Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.