Salvage from the Wreckage

By NickMogToo

Belle and Sebastian

A lot of logistics and an early start so that, after work, C and I headed off to Oxford to see Belle and Sebastian at the O2 Academy. Lucked out getting a parking space opposite the venue and it was a lovely sunny evening. The Cowley Road has a load of interesting food places - food from all over the world. We had a salad and freshly-made apple and pineapple juice. Then to the venue.

It’s not a fabulous venue - rammed and hot and sticky and sound wasn’t really loud enough. After a while, I left C near the back where she had found a rare seat and wasn’t going to give it up and I made my way as far forward as I could get - about half way. Some people shoved their way forwards but I stopped when I got as far as I could without shoving!

The second half of the gig had a bit more atmosphere than the first half. Particularly when they let a dozen people onto the stage to dance... (mainly young, attractive women with a couple of token middle-aged men!).

Then I got a text from C asking me to rescue her. She had made a new best friend of a drunk, middle-aged man. He was actually very nice. But drunk. I think that C was slightly flattered but I got a hug and a kiss off him too so maybe he wasn’t that discriminating...

Thanks to the internet:
The State I Am In
Dirty Dream Number Two
Sister Buddha
She's Losing It
The Model
Beyond the Sunrise
I Want the World to Stop
The Chalet Lines
If You're Feeling Sinister
Family Tree
The Wrong Girl
I Can See Your Future
Dear Catastrophe Waitress
The Boy With the Arab Strap
We Are the Sleepyheads
Sleep the Clock Around

Encore:
The Blues Are Still Blue
Women's Realm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.