Ramblings and Mutterings

By ValleyAllBlack

Wales Airshow

An early start to the Wales Airshow in Swansea today.  This was the first time I've been, even though it's down the road.

The first display was the amazing Eurofighter Typhoon, that thing is one loud beast.  It was like a crack of thunder as it arrived, and surprised everyone.  Seeing the afterburners full on, is an amazing experience.  What a fighter!

There were loads of other displays, like the Chinook and parachutists, but my favourites were the Typhoon, the Battle of Britain Memorial Flight (see blip) and of course, the best of the best, the Red Arrows.  I'd seen the Spitfire and Hurricane before, the year when the Lancaster had to be pulled, so it was great to see the Lancaster at last.  Nothing beats the sound of these machines, especially when you hear the Spitfire and Hurricane dive and accelerate, it's just the best!

The Red Arrows finished the Saturday day displays and they are simply the best!  No one else comes anywhere near them in terms of the formations that they pull off.  They're awesome!

I had problems, my batteries died on my proper camera and my phone.  So the photos were a bit hit and miss, but I did get some ok ones.

I also got some good exercise, I reckon I walked about 6 miles over the day at a fast pace as well, and the legs held up.  I couldn't do that 6 months ago.

Great organisation on the day, the park and ride was brilliant, and the bus back at the end of the day was most welcome and the queues went down quickly.

Good to spend the day with my friends, Anne and Richard and their lovely dog Xen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.