Go to Perth!*

 Having just finished reading "Cloudstreet" by Tim Winton, I'm now planning a visit to Perth, Australia. It has long been a dream destination for me, since I saw photos of the Pinnacle Desert and other amazing natural sights on a fellow blipper's site. I've been lucky enough to visit Australia 30 years ago on a solo trip before I got married and I was stunned by the wildlife - the only place I've ever seen a swarm of bees fly past me!

Those of you who know me well might be surprised that I'd choose to produce so much CO2 just on a nice holiday, so let me put your mind at rest right now and tell you that this trip is just a virtual one, kind of like a school project. I thought it would be fun to research the place and explore it on Google Earth :-)

Mind you...The Man in Seat61 says that it is possible to get from the UK to Australia without flying..so maybe one day, when I have the time and the money, I might just do it..I remember that when I was 8 years old, a girl in my class (Fiona Fowler) emigrated to Sydney and was travelling with her family by boat. It was going to take them 6 weeks and seemed so unimaginably exotic.

Monday tomorrow and back to real life..

*this will make some members of my family chuckle!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.