horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

Come Fly With Me

2 hour early morning training ride?
Check

Front garden deweeded (more or less)?
Check

Mackerel processed into brine and now pickling?
Check

Wheat beer homebrew now fermenting?
Check

Productive day all told. I like this 'making' things. It's a little different from normal cooking, or baking. I like getting the processes into place, and then the waiting game (though there's the chance of disappointment, of course, like when my homemade Patxaran just wasn't up to scratch). But I couldn't resist the fresh, beautiful mackerel I saw in the fishmonger yesterday, and I've been wanting to try pickling some fish for a while; and is any excuse needed for a bit of homebrewing? (the wheat beer will have some orange hint to it, which I'll keep an eye (or tastebud) on - the airlock has already gurgled at me once tonight, so the yeast has already got itself to work on the sugar. I've got the grain and everything else for a saison after that, which I'm going all out on a rose flavouring, aiming for something akin to Little Creatures from Australia, but that's a few weeks off yet, oh, and will be stealing some of the wort from that to give my little copper still a shot as well).

It's all very "Why Don't You...." for those of us of a certain age. Although I don't remember the kids ever making booze....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.