Euro banter

A slow day after one too many gins last night. A mint ice cream perked me up for some evening wandering and a drink of white port and tonic with some of the Pride revellers I’d met last night.

I’m at the stage in language learning where some people will overhear something and say ‘wow, are you from Brazil?’ However most will allow me to get as far as olá before giving a pitying look and immediately switching to English.

I overheard a Frenchman speaking to another man, and establishing that he was Portuguese. The Frenchman then came out with some age old classic banter that if the other man had been English they’d be enemies, but as it was they could be friends. He then walked away chuckling and pleased with himself. Ah, hilarious exchanges. It felt like Porto’s comedy circuit was safe.

Very much enjoying the vibe of Porto.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.