Midhill - Orkney Mainland Highest Point.

Authorities have been baffled today by the strange orange thing that has been tracking round us all day; news is, it won’t last.  The BBC weather lady Judith Ralston (yes, well) said (at 7.30 a.m.) cloud will gradually clear over Orkney, throughout the morning.  The Current Mrs Creel and me were out of bed at 5.00 a.m. because there was not a cloud visible.  Hardly credible. Not a breath of wind, hardly credible.  The rain gauge was greeting, and self-measuring.  It can’t be good for you. 

So I had my pack of sandwiches and flask made and was away early into the hills.  Gruff Hill, Midhill, Ward Hill, down to Fea etc.  CMC caught the Hoy ferry.  With the exception of myself I think most folk in the parish have been cutting, wrapping or carting. Arrived home to find a loving note from CMC ‘Mind to cut the grass’.  Who said romance was deid?

Cathy McGowan is 76.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.