A walk to Fingle Bridge, Castle Drogo

Today is Mr hazelh's uncle's birthday. Mr hazelh and I joined the family at his uncle's house for a day of celebrations soon after breakfast at our hotel (and a quick scout around the charity shops of Okehampton - one purchase made).

Mr hazelh and I treated everyone to lunch at Castle Drogo. The more energetic members of the party - Mr hazelh, my mother-in-law, and I - also took a lovely walk on the estate through the woods to Fingle Bridge. My blip shows one of the views along the way. The route was rather steep in places; had we envisaged walking on such terrain during our trip to Somerset and Devon, we would have packed our walking boots. Mr hazelh's mother did really well to complete the walk with relative ease, given her advanced age (78).

This evening the celebrations continued back at the house with Mr hazelh's cousins. The youngest one - his 10 year-old second cousin once removed - taught me how to play Uno. It's rather like a less witty version of Exploding Kittens.

Exercise today: walking (12,842 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.