Thatchers

I saw thatchers at work repairing the roof on an old barn which is part of Billesley Manor Hotel. I wished I had stopped and taken a photo so I turned around and went back but unfortunately had forgotten to take my proper camera with me. They didn’t mind being photographed at work , used to it probably, and were very friendly and happy to answer all my questions. Sadly I didn’t write it all down, but from memory, it’s Devon Wheat straw which has been put through a Devon combing machine which strips the grain off. You can learn the basics fairly quickly he said but it takes years to become a real expert. There’s no official apprenticeship scheme any more because there aren’t enough people to teach it.
His mate in the extra was bundling up sheafs (sheaves?) of straw to give the man on the roof. They had removed a big old wooden beam full of rot and put a new one in.
Note the union flag patterned radio tied to a tree in the extra. They were listening to the Archers! Very apt.
They’re hoping to finish it by the end of the week and it is going to be a new Yoga Studio for the Hotel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.