carmen_writes

By carmen_writes

Unicorns and Chimps

You may have heard of the Chimp Paradox before. If you haven’t, it’s a Chimp inside your head that makes you feel scared or intimidated. However, the Chimp is also very helpful. It makes you aware of dangerous situations and questions the safety of an activity.

The Chimp can be both good and bad, that why it’s called a “Paradox”. This whole Paradox got me thinking. What if Chimps weren’t the only animals inside our heads?

Allow me to introduce you to 5-Year-Old me. She’s in Year 1, has a worrying amount of pink clothing and loves unicorns.

To her, Unicorns can do no wrong. She loves them because they are so colourful, creative and kind. When something amazing happens, the Unicorn is in control.

Whilst the Unicorn may be nothing more to you than a childhood fantasy, to me they’re my ticket out. They are my way of escaping the stress, social media, judgement, criticism.

So today I am grateful for my Unicorn Slippers that are too small for me.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.