Brutalist beauty

Well of course I worry about getting to places on time; I'm a punctual guy. So the longer the journey, the more I worry about the potential for hold ups and I end up allowing mad amounts of contingency. Today, then, I was nearly an hour and a half early for my meeting in Derbyshire.

The journey home, though, that's a different matter. And when the lady I was meeting with today recommended a scenic route back to Manchester, I was all for it. As it happened, the satnav recommended this route, anyway; some hold up on the motorway, no doubt.

But I got home after a lovely journey on which there was nowhere to pull over and capture a scenic shot, so you get this brutalist beauty instead.

And as soon as I was home, the Minx drove me to the station, so I could take the train in to meet Charlie for a drink and a bite to eat at The Knott. It was only on my way home that I saw the old signs indicating that Deansgate station was once known as Knott Hill. That's a much better name.

****
-12.9 kgs
Reading: 'Pauline Boty: Pop Artist And Woman' by Sue Tate

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.