stuartjross

By stuartjross

Evening Swears

It was a day of desk stuff, then a tender visit to a site in the town then a long email in connection with it. Not much fresh air consumed, there was still sufficient light for a quick tramp at 9 pm.
Archie is quite obedient and returns to you on the shout of his name but this particular stage of the evening presents a new challenge. Perhaps the deer are settling down for the evening. Whatever, there were clearly enticing scents in the Achaderry air and  he initially ran about in circles then hurtled off in a straight line. A few seconds later several big deer got to their feet and cantered off, their pace comfortably double that of Archie. During this performance the wee boy must pull on ear muffs because my calls are ignored until he is fed up. Once he gets the scent he is single minded and driven by instinct. Caley has never exhibited such a trait though I can sometimes get Caley to go and round up Archie and he seems to respect Caley's  intervention.
The walk resumed as normal and light was failing as we got nearer the car. Just as the lead was to go on he did it again. This time he headed for open ground at a part ofthe estate which is private. I had no option but to follow. I reached the large clearing and he had vanished.  Perhaps he had doubled back to the car through dense forest.I returned to check. No sign. Going back to the clearing I got a glimpse of him at about 300 metres distance. I was concerned my loud shouting would disturb folk in the houses nearby,  Suddenly he appeared round a corner charging full pelt in my direction but with no intention of stopping. I did a very forceful rugby tackle and then got him on the lead. Next, I phoned Mrs SJR to stand her down. She was on her way by this time with a torch. 
Pacing back to the car with him on a tight lead and my pulse still booming in my head the air was blue. So much for a nice calming evening walk.
Picture is of well behaved Caley at Machine Gun Hill

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.