The ‘new” Pavilion

I was on Bute all day (three islands in three days this week - so far) and one of my meetings was in the Pavilion, a feature of the Rothesay seafront since it was opened in 1938 and now being carefully and lovingly restored and renewed for the 21st century.

I remember organising the 1997 SNP Conference in the building , which was in a different political era , before the Parliament came into being.

Further back I recall attending the 1983 SNP Conference here, which was my first ever party conference.

Since then I have been there many times, attending many things and as the local MSP have been a firm supporter of the work that had to be done if it was to survive in use.

That work is now at last coming to fruition and is very impressive - many will remember the old tea room on the first floor, next to the main hall (which had and will still have the largest dance floor in Scotland) and this is how it looked today.

It is hoped the first season for the new building will start in the spring of next year. I greatly look forward to seeing it then.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.