a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Who 'y gonna call?

I waited and waited but Ziggy didn't show.

A corporate golf day (which was very pleasant) saw me arrive home late this evening.  When I checked my phone I saw that the Thursday night crew from the village had decided to walk across the fields to Kelston (a nearby village) for a few beers. Cathy was engrossed in Wimbledon and raised no objection, so I added another 5 miles to my total for the day.  

This shot was taken with the iPhone in Kelston. Once upon a time if we needed to speak to people this is where we went.  Phone boxes didn't always smell great*, and if you were intending to have a long conversation you needed to take a pocket full of change with you.  If you were phoning your girlfriend back home you also had to recognise that the queue of people outside could hear your every word.   

(*sometimes they were used by some men as urinals (and I think it will have been almost uniquely men))

Before leaving I suggested to Cathy that perhaps we should have a night in together on Friday, but I had overlooked the local book club meeting. So we have diarised Saturday as our next night in together.  We shall start series 3 of Stranger Things and I need to consider what to cook ....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.