End of the line

After work I walked to the station and six and a half hours later I arrived at the end of the line - at Uckfield the train turns around, back to London Bridge. From here it is a short walk to my parents’ house. I’ll be here until Wednesday then it’s back to London to see Sarah for a couple of days.

On the train I had plenty of time to think and I thought a lot about an encounter I had yesterday with a woman who told me about her life. She had been born with a caul (membrane) over her head. “Like David Copperfield,” said I, “that’s supposed to be very lucky!” “So the midwife told my mother “ she said “ but I’m 64 now and I’ve been waiting for that luck ever since.” She had had a good career and lived in a beautiful part of the world with her husband, but seemed to find it hard to look for the good things in life.

I couldn’t help but contrast this with the attitude of an amazing man https://seanstephenson.com/ I’d seen on TV who has a really optimistic outlook on life, despite his obvious disadvantages.

It seems to me that if you wait for luck, it won’t arrive. Bad things happen but it’s up to us to choose how we deal with them.

That’s my travel wisdom for the day. Time for bed. Have a great weekend, everybody :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.