Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Classic Ibiza meets Classic Stately Home

It's a birthday weekend for L and and K (who we've known all of our married lives).  The venue was Weston park.  Historically I've spent many a weekend there in a work capacity at the V Festival.  Today I was just one of the festival goers for an evening of Ibiza classics.  

There was almost a sense of incredulity that I recognised all of the tracks that the Urban Soul Orchestra played over two sets of more than two hours.  OK some of them have been around since the 90's, when I took a much more active interest in chart music, but it was still a great evening that got these creaking old bones gyrating to the beat (well at least for a while).

The T&Cs said no 'professional' cameras with a warning of bag searches on entry so I took my least 'professional' camera with me, the Nikon v3.  I managed to sneak in a small tripod but after a few shots I just went handheld with a combination of high(ish) ISO and vibration reduction and hoped for the best.

I'd spoken with the Park's Chief Executive yesterday and said I'd try and get some shots that had both the stage and the house in the frame.  Luckily, they'd made a special effort to light the house, even using lasers to play patterns across the facade.  This was one of my better efforts.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.