If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Meadow Brown (Maniola jurtina)

Another very pleasant summer day, the Lakes are having a good spell of weather this year.  We deci/ded to have a run down Haweswater, Clickychick is there quite regularly but my visits are few and far between.  The valley has lost some of its appeal to me since the Eagle disappeared.  Back in the 60s there was a breeding pair.  The female disappeared and the male hung around until a few years ago.  With the introduction of Sea Eagles, Kites and Osprey I have never understood why they didn't introduce a female.  After all the pair arrived uunder their own steam, so to speak.

I felt certain today's blip would be a scenery shot from somewhere in the valley.  However after the scenery was well and truly photographed I turned my attention to the many Butterflies.  I so rarely get a good shot of a butterfly and then it tends to be one of the big three - Tortoiseshell, Red Admiral or Peacock.  So I was pleased to get this halfway decent shot of what I am fairly certain is a Medow Brown but butterflies are another weakness in my knowledge.  Too busy looking at birds I suppose!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.