what remains of us is love

Today I visited Chichester Cathedral - by bus to Brighton and then train to Chichester. It's a lovely place, built in the 12th century and its tall spire visible from the sea across the flat Sussex countryside. 

This tomb was the inspiration for Philip Larkin's poem "An Arundel Tomb" - it's unusual because the couple are holding hands.

I had intended to walk to Bosham (pronounced "Bozzam") along part of the The Old Way, a pilgrimage route between Southampton and Canterbury. The first part of the walk was straightforward, west out of the city, over the railway and under the A27, but out in the open countryside there were such a plethora of paths, streams and little bridges that it was difficult to navigate. I decided to pick an easier and nearer destination - another 12th century church, at Apuldram (the name comes from the old word for an apple orchard, and there are still apples growing here today).

The church was open, tiny and delightful (see extra). There were 11 perspex figures for the soldiers killed in two world wars - so many from a small village.

I made my way back along paths beside fields of maize and courgettes and I discovered the amazing Apuldram Centre which reminded me of The Usual Place. I had a quick look around, but had to continue on to Chichester to catch the train back to Brighton.

I fell asleep on the bus back to Uckfield, but thankfully didn't miss my stop :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.