Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

Fly Me to the Moon

50 years ago today was the eve of Apollo 11 lifting off from Cape Canaveral on what would become (IMO) the greatest single trip of exploration ever.  I was watching the TV tonight, a Stargazing programme, when the moon rose and so I grabbed the longest lens and captured a view that those astronauts might have had before they started their trip.

L and I often debate the merits of the space programme.  I've always been in awe of the achievements of the various NASA and other space agency programmes.  I was just 8 when Apollo 11 made its historic voyage and can remember being at school and that we were shown various broadcasts on TV in the last few days of the summer term.  It made a lasting impression on me.

L on the other hand questions the cost of space travel and whether the money spent could have benefitted mankind more if it had been used in medicine and for the less well off.  I always think that mankind has a need to explore; it's in our DNA.  These accomplishments lead to new discoveries and technological developments that benefit mankind.  I'm sure greater minds than us have debated the various merits, but equally I'm sure that when the space programme was in its early years, a cost benefit analysis was unlikely to be in the uppermost of people's minds.

It was a quiet day, a sore back encouraged me to walk to the gym and then a swim, rather than the normal pilates.  After lunch there was a quick visit to the hospital for some checks and to be told there were no concerns.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.