Moments to spare

After meeting tour guide, Nick, this morning, I dashed around downloading the photos I took (just in case I lose a camera!); completing van prep; and piling in as many goodies into the van as I could muster. A non-cycling, pottering trip is a great excuse to attempt to add a few pounds to my ever-diminishing fat reserves.

Once breaking out of Ilkley's resurfacing traffic nightmare (for the second time today), we were on our way with a fine journey ahead of us. We arrived at Wemyss Bay with a ferry approaching and no time to spare for dinner. 

Fear not, we have parked up, had a fantastic tikka masala from Mindful Chef (there's more where that came from!), downed a cuppa and headed to the beach of Scalpsie Bay as the sun was setting. We were joined by a stonechat family and you may see one of the youngsters on my blip (nope, decided to save the van on our approach to the island). It was only a quick stretch but a rather lovely one. Maybe we'll explore again in the morning. 

I had a bit of a brain malfunction coming up with this trip. Scotland is out of bounds for me from April to November. Yet here I am! The weather looked good and I just fancied it. So far, we haven't seen a midge. Hopefully, I'll say the same tomorrow, otherwise we may have an early departure. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.