Make Every Day Memorable

By Jorgiesmum

Skomer - A Day To Remember

Just a fabulous day from start to finish.

When visiting Skomer there is always the risk that you can't get a landing pass on the boat as numbers are limited to 250 people per day.  The tickets are sold on a first come first served basis so the queue starts forming about 5.30 AM. We overcame this 'problem' by staying in a beautiful B and B nearby, which gets the tickets for you as you eat your delicious breakfast.
The other risk is the weather as the boat doesn't run if it's inclement.
No issues there yesterday as it was clear blue skies all day and seriously hot.
I spent a large proportion of the 5 hours ashore photographing the thousands of puffins who nest in burrows on the cliff edges. Most of the chicks have now fledged so it was quite rare to see any adults flying in with beak fulls of sand eels and those that did were an easy target for the gulls who stand guard over any burrow still housing a chick. :-(
Access, once you had romped across the island, was brilliant, with the birds within inches of you. I could have stayed there for days.
My mission was to practise my panning skills. Out of the many images I took there are only a couple that are  acceptably sharp. I've included one in my extras.
I posted a couple of images last night but have changed my main blip today and added a few more extras.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.