Full Thunder Moon - Waning Gibbous!

I did see the eclipse last night  -  I should’ve blipped it!!  What a great time to have such an eclipse  -  the anniversary of the Apollo 11 landing! The Moon was very bright later so at 00.25 I got out into the garden and captured a few shots. Waning Gibbous now and only 99% of Full Moon  - Full Moon was yesterday.  The illumination was 100% and it was 399,196 km from Earth at that time.  July is normally the month when the new antlers of buck deer start to grow  -  so the Native Americans named the July Full Moon the Buck Moon!  It is also often called the Full Hay Moon because it is harvesting time, or Full Thunder Moon, because thunderstorms are most frequent during this time.  I prefer Thunder Moon because it has a more atmospheric feel to it, and because I love to hear the roll of thunder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.