The Lurker!

This morning my friend set off from Lands End to ride his trike to John O'Groats. Tomorrow he does it all again but in reverse.
This link doesn't appear to be working, it works in FB Messenger though!
If you want to have a look go to the link and search for a person 'Lez Foote'.
https://uk.virginmoneygiving.com/fundraiser-display/showROFundraiserPage?userUrl=LezFoote&pageUrl=1&fbclid=IwAR12FMXXI1SUPTPXLt11eIGe0XGQbMNJ_IDtD6vyEEgzMLzyxOJH6ghmejk

I drove to the roundabout above the M5 at Jct 11 (A40 for Gloucester and Cheltenham) to wave my 'LEST WE FORGET' flag at him as he passed.
I figured it out that he's leaving at 0500, refuelling at Exeter, it takes 4 hours from Lands End to the M5 Jct 11, so I got there at 08:55 and started watching out. I thought he'd be passing around 0915 - 0930'ish.
About 0925 I had some company, the blipfoto entry today!
They were lovely and as they got out of the car I said "I could say I'd broken down but I'd be lying". The big Policeman said "I would have guessed that by the flag lying on the barrier"!
Anyway, they were lovely and had been sent to check me out as they thought I might be a 'Jumper'.  I'd stayed on the outside of the steel barrier (there's a 'no mans land' between the barrier and the fence) but then I'd put my legs over and sat on the barrier.
They stayed with me for a good while and said that if we see Lez they would put on their blue lights for him. We chatted about Bikes, Advanced Riders, RAF (His father in law is in the RAF), etc. When they said about me being a jumper I said that I couldn't do that, I wouldn't leave my mate, and glanced at the car. They couldn't see anyone in the car so they went to have a look and found Jonty peering up at them. Lots of Awwww's and 'Isn't he cute'. You can just see him on the passenger side in the photo.
In the end they got a call and went off with siren blaring and lights flashing.

I called Lez and he was at Jct 2, Birmingham, so I must have missed him by minutes. On the other hand he must have been motoring some to get through before 0900!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.