Leaving Michigan

Late last evening I said goodbye to everyone still at the family reunion and I hitched a ride with one of my cousins and his family back to their place in Grand Rapids - 2 hours away. Two other family groups had already left earlier in the day and the rest were leaving today anyway. We got to their place at midnight and by the time I got my light out it was after 1am. And at 4am my alarm went off as I had an early flight to Denver. We left the house at 445am and I was on a plane at 615am. Grand Rapids has a lot of early flights - it was busy! I was so glad to get on as I as going standby and it was pretty full. I think the plane left with only 2 empty seats. I was very thankful to get a window seat in Economy Plus.

This is the view as we were just about to pull away from the gate. The sun was just coming up.

I snoozed on the flight. It was two and a half hours long. With the 2 hour time change we landed at 645am! Back in time for breakfast! It was a HOT day in Denver - it’s supposed to be hot all week. The good thing about Denver is that the mornings and evenings are cool, so I was glad to land early and get back to the city by train before the heat of the day.

I was a bit restless the rest of the day. I’d hoped I would sleep but I didn’t. I met a friend for lunch and we each had a delicious bento box. I was eager to get back into my air conditioned condo. Too hot for being outside! I was finally able to sit out on my balcony in the evening and watched the sun go down and the city lights come on. I went for an evening walk down to Larimer Square and went to see a jazz band at The Crimson Room. A couple of weeks ago I had briefly chatted to the bass player (see this blip) and he said they played there every Tuesday. So I very much enjoyed listening to them for an hour or so before finally making my way ‘home’ and was finally tired enough for bed. (See Extra photo)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.