back on the Rode again ..... (or nearly not)

A pleasant day in Market Harborough recording some new songs with Porky Brown.  

Not a good start though.  I'm driving out of Wolverton when I notice a van travelling very fast on the opposite side of the road.  It's a 40mph limit, which why I notice him.  He hits the kerb on his side of the road and then swerves onto my side.  He's heading straight for me, but I manage to drive up onto the pavement to get out of his way.

I watch in my rear-view mirror as he continues speeding up the road before hitting a roundabout and rolling over.  I park the car and walk back expecting to see something very unpleasant.

The front of the van is missing and there's a man standing beside it.  I ask if the driver's alright.  "I'm OK " says the man. 

I'm flabbergasted; I expected to find a corpse.  Bewilderment changes to anger; "you were heading straight for me" I say.  He nods.

Police and an ambulance arrive.  I give my contact details to a police woman and head back to my car.  I decide a day spent in the company of a good friend making music is good way of getting it out of my system.  

Which is just what happens.  It's a Rode microphone, by the way.  Poor joke, I know.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.