MikeWest

By MikeWest

Past Remnants

Whilst looking for more macro shots today, I came across a lichen covered rock containing a white circle of a different type of material that I thought interesting. I'm sure a geologist could tell us something of how this came to be, but my interest is more in its aesthetic appeal and meaning.

For me, the rock has significance in that it is of this earth, a remnant of its formation, and the circle reflects the planet's shape. In this regard I take my cue from Paul Kenny, who's work concerns the micro and macro and how they relate. Funny that it should be called macro photography, when in all other cases macro refers to big things, not little.

I think the appeal for me in this image, is mainly the contrasting textures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.