Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Argiope spider

Argiope ???

Happy new year to you all and congratulations to all those who had blip celebrations yesterday. A lot of new years resolutions were realized!

My argiope spider folder was getting out of hand, so I spent some time researching in the hope of breaking the folder down into names species. I did manage a few, but so many remained unidentified.

I have featured this species before and it is quite common. It is widespread too, as I remember Esta (ChocolateLover) blipping this one from Jakarta. Even with its distinctive colors and markings, I was unable to locate an ID. If this was England, there would be thousands of images and whole websites dedicated to it!

Update - argiope catenulata (thanks Angellightphoto).

Dave

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.