Me, myself & I

By AlisonMM

Muslim Cemetery

Another trip on two wheels to another little airport near us. Mr M organised a bike ride for one of his (slightly eccentric) cycling groups. I was promised a bacon bap if I cycled with him to the start at Fairoaks Airport. Unfortunately due to other commitments I couldn't do the whole ride or meet them for lunch so I headed for home.

Cycling back I stopped off at Muslim Burial Ground on Horsell Common. The burial ground fell into ruin until a couple of years ago when it was given an overhaul and is now a beautiful, peaceful garden. 27 soldiers who were originally buried there but their graves were moved to nearby Brookwood Cemetery.

The gates were open (they normally only open the burial ground a couple of times a year) so I took the opportunity to go in.  Later in the afternoon they were having a ceremony to honour the 27 soldiers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.