Above And Beyond...

By BobsBlips

Lower Machen Old Oak Tree

Mrs BB and I had a few hours out doing some shopping and I got home having not been inspired to take a photograph. The local fields have just been harvested leaving some nice ground colours so this evening I headed out to take a photograph of my most favourite tree.

I'd just taken a couple when I heard a commotion at the gate: My good friend and his wife had just arrived home yesterday from a Med cruise to celebrate her 60th birthday so we spent a while chatting. They'd just been to the pub after a walk.

The Old Oak in Lower Machen is believed to be over 400 years old judging by its size and is amazing to see as it's completely split in half, no doubt as the result of a lightning strike many years ago. It's incredible how it keeps growing.

Lens:   LM mount Voigtlander 15mm mkiii F4.5 at F8

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.