Graffiti Or Art?

It was due to be another scorcher of a day in Denver. I don’t enjoy the heat at all so if I wasn’t going to be trapped indoors all day I knew I had to get out early for a walk. I left at about 8 and decided to walk along the Cherry Creek trail, heading north to where the trail starts at the confluence with the South Platte River. It was already getting very warm, but thankfully the path was shaded. The creek lies below the street level which helped. See the Extra photo.

This 40 mile trail is popular for walkers, runners and cyclists and winds it’s way from Downtown where it starts and goes way into the southern suburbs and rural areas, so many cyclists use it for commuting to keep off the busy roads.

Denver seems to have become known for its street art and murals - I’m not sure if it’s all been sanctioned or whether it’s graffiti. There are whole sides of buildings beautifully painted. I love it and I’m sure I’ll include more in future blips. I’ve even discovered that there’s a Street Art Tour in the city! I must add it to my list of things to do while I’m here.

These are a few of the murals I saw along the Cherry Creek trail today. The top middle and right are part of the same mural. The one in the very middle is part of the mural in the Extra photo. The middle row right and all three on the bottom are part of the same very long mural called ‘Sumbols of Colorado’. I’m not sure about the houses. They look more like a European hillside village than something I’ve ever seen in Colorado. Maybe someone will enlighten me!

I saw more! But they will have to wait for another day. I was out much longer than I expected - there are always new and interesting things to discover in Denver. So by the time I got home I was REALLY hot and so glad to get back to air conditioning and a shower. I stayed indoors for much of the rest of the day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.