At MONA

Today I went on a bus trip to the Matske Gallery on Camano Island and the Museum of Northwest Art in La Conner. My teacher Trish Harding and a ceramic artist and friend, Deb McCunn were the leaders of the trip. The bus took us down Camano Island to the far end where the Matske Gallery and sculpture garden are. I've been before and love being there. Carla Matske has transformed her property into a magical garden of paths and open spaces filled with wonderful sculptures. Inside is a gallery. I was delighted to find a small painting by my good friend Erin Libby there that I loved. So now it's home with me.

After the gallery we went to La Conner and a group of us had a delicious lunch at Nell Thorn. It's been a long time since I've been to that restaurant and I found it is just as wonderful as I remembered.

Next we had a guided tour of the Museum of Northwest Art (MONA) where I too this photograph. They had a show of art by Joan Kirkman. She was a fashion artist for 40 years. For me the best part of that show was her personal collection of paintings of women. They were fantastic. You can see one in the extra photos.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.