Catching up!

In both senses of the word.  I’m adding this entry a few days late and my walk into the wood was intended as a catch up on the developments in the fungi `patch’ that I discovered a few days ago.  Well the fungi had largely disappeared apart from one and a soggy mess at the side.  I also took the opportunity to check out the  numbers of cattle in the Hereford herd as we wondered if there were fewer of them.  They are still there but I think the fact that they can roam over several fields means that their grazing habits mean a nibble here and there leaving the grass in the woodland largely intact and the main field an insect paradise of thistles.  
And I spotted another woodpecker tree while I was there and this Speckled Wood butterfly that had probably had a narrow escape from a bird.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.