You're takin' the peas.

Bumper crop of peas this year, out this morning to harvest the ones ready. A pea and ham homemade soup we pondered? The bowl of peas sat atop the bunker in the kitchen. Unfortunately every time the bowl was passed a handful of these delicious things were popped into a mouth. After an hour we had to downsize the expectations to a pea flan. By lunchtime - well, that's five each isn't it. That's the way peas should be eaten though, just after the pod goes pop. Still there are loads more to come, I'll give them a couple of days.

In other news, police cars, coastguard vans, ambulances and a major incident vehicle went scurrying past the house - sirens wailing and blue lights flashing, all heading down to the village. Now Blackness is tiny, what could have happened to deserve this response was beyond me, (perhaps a Russian submarine had washed up on the foreshore having messed up its GPS?). I grabbed my camera, put on my visor with 'Scoop' written across it and a ticket saying 'PRESS' tucked into the headband and leapt into the car. To no avail. By the time I got there the drama had passed. Two young lads had been swallowed by bottomless mud just off the yacht club. They had been rescued and were fit and well, I did ask the coastguard if he could throw them back in again, just for a blip you understand, but no. I took a couple of shots but to be honest coastguards enjoying a coffee in the yacht club does not meet your exacting standards.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.