2013 in pictures......

By GemmaSavage

1/365 Times Gone By

Day 1 of 365, I took a drive to my parents' house in the Rhondda wracking my brain for ideas to photograph. Realising I'd left my camera at home I figured I'd take a shot of the kitchen calendar this evening as a visual image of the start of 2013. But,
as I passed through Tonypandy / Llwynypia and saw for the 1000th time the Commemorative statue to the Miners of the Rhondda I knew it was too good to miss. Whenever I pass this I get goosebumps, thankful for how far we have come in the South Wales Valleys, remembering my own grandad who was a miner himself.

This shot was taken from behind the statue, its silhouette lit up against the blue skies in the background (and it was easier to park there rather than hold up traffic from the front!). The front of the image can be found here: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/8/86/Miners%27_Statue%2C_Rhondda.jpg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.