JustSally

By JustSally

Two cigarette boxes

There was great excitement in Ireland yesterday at the end of The Open when an Irishman won in tremendous style. I wonder what the atmosphere was like when my stepfather won this cigarette box in a golf competition! He had competed in the Cleek Competition at the Royal Calcutta Golf Club in 1914 and the yellowing press cutting (extra) pasted inside the lid shows that he won the competition with a score of 38 1/2, beating his nearest rival by just half a point. I Googled The Royal Calcutta Golf Club and it still exists, but I don't know whether they still run the Cleek Competition after all these years!
The smaller cigarette box is also interesting as it was made by my paternal grandfather who was a plumber in Chatham Dockyard. I don't know what the metal is, but it certainly isn't silver. Two treasures to pass down through the family.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.