Land-and-seascapes

By tondrijfhamer

We're leaving for France!

Finally this day has come.
We left Delfzijl at 08.00 am and drove the largest part of the day over the German Autobahn. All went well. Most of the time the traffic wasn’t too heavy (it’s Sunday, so no trucks on the road) and we hardly had any traffic jams. Just two, one halfway the morning and the second one during the final 2 kilometers.

The first I think I’ll remember for a while. When I had to stop the car and lined up in the right lane I suddenly saw in my mirror a green Audi racing towards us. I saw it in my rear view mirror and froze, I couldn’t even touch the button of my alarm lights, I just watched. I saw a woman next to the driver scream and I guess I then stepped on my brakes (I stood still) and at that moment the driver turned his steering wheel and swoooozzed past us. So fast and close it made our car shake.
Luckily the lane he went into was empty, so he could stop just in time behind the car further away. I was a little bit pale and shaky after that. When I think of what might have happened, my stomach turned around. Anyways, Annemarie and the boys (except Daan) didn’t notice what just happened so we tried to forget all about it and I drove on towards our hotel for the night.

We arrived there around 17.00 pm, we unpacked and had a very nice dinner on the terrace.
Location: Karlsruhe, Germany.
Tomorrow we’ll drive onwards to France, to our camping near the village of Ornans.

On the photo Bas and Daan are enjoying the inevitable Currywurst mit Pommes during our last stop of the day somewhere in sunny Germany.


Good night!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.