New Cestrian

By BHPPhoto

One Year On

This will be my 278th blip entry which is an unremarkable figure in blipland but has a significance for me since it marks one full calendar year from my first blip. I've enjoyed blipping and will continue to do so. I've always had a camera to hand well before blip come on the scene but, like many photographers, the images I took ended up gathered in a box full of dusty negatives or in the digital darkness of an anonymous hard drive. In both cases they never saw the light of day - pun intended. I've never really fancied going down the Flickr or, heaven forbid, Instagram route as a way of self publishing but blip has come along and filled the void rather nicely. Working as I do as a press photographer requires me to produce images to a certain format and style depending on the publication that has commissioned the work. Blipping puts no obstacles in the way of style and common sense is the rule when it comes to content. In a sense it has been very liberating. Perhaps the best thing about blipping this year has been the fact that I have made some new friends and re-acquainted myself with some old ones (see below). Well done to the guys and girls at blip central for providing a social media site that is actually social and uses media well. Happy New Year 2013.

If your interested their is a good article today all about blip with comments and images from some of my former press photographer colleagues working at The Herald in Glasgow. All of them keen blippers in between assignments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.